Minutes of the Meeting of the Avon Township Board of Canvass

Tuesday, March 9, 2021 Avon Town Hall; 16881 Queens Road, Avon (MN)

- 1. **Call to Order**: Rich Sanoski called to order the meeting of the Avon Township Board of Canvass at about 9:45 PM. This meeting was also available via Zoom at the following URL: https://us02web.zoom.us/j/8325486945, Passcode: AvonTown.
- 2. **Roll Call**: Present Kelly Martini, LeRoy Gondringer, Rich Sanoski, Stephen Saupe. Absent: Will Huston.
- 3. **Business**: The purpose of this meeting was to certify the results of the March 8, 2022 Avon Township Election. The following information was presented:
 - a. Poll hours/Set Up Polls were open from 2:00 until 8:00 PM at the Avon Township Hall. There were 6 polling stations (3 stand-up and 3 sit-down) and an assistive voting machine.
 - b. Election Judges There were seven election judges (Deb Angulski, Margie Evens, Duane Fasen, Marion Gondringer, Jay Hedlund, Sue Rushmeyer, and Marlene Haider, *Head Judge*).
 - c. Election results are summarized in the tables below:

Avon Township – Summary of March 2022 Balloting for Precincts P1 & P2			
	P1 & P2 Total		
Ballots received	200		
Ballots spoiled or used in machine tests	17		
Persons registered prior to poll opening	1502		
Number persons registering	0		
Absentee Ballots	2		
Total registered voters on Election Day	1502		
Number voters	100		
% Residents voting	6.7%		

Avon Township – Summary of March 2022 Results for Precincts P1 & P2				
Race	Candidate(s)	Votes		
Supervisor: 3-year term	LeRoy Gondringer	38		
(2022 – 2025)	Jacob Hoheisel	17		
(All write-ins)	Stephen Saupe	5		
	Mary Wunderlich	4		
	Steve Hoshiel	3		
	Ken Mergen	3		
	Gary Laing	1		
	Dan Binsfield	1		
	Troy Studniski	1		

	Kevin Jonas	1
	Dean Mielke	1
	Kelly Martini	1
	Steph Stephiu	1
	Roger Nelson	1
	Total	78
Supervisor: 1-year term	LeRoy Gondringer	29
(2022 – 2023)	Kevin Jonas	10
(All write-ins)	Jacob Hoheisel	9
	Mary Wunderlich	5
	Kelly Martini	3
	Roger Nelson	2
	Steve Saupe	1
	Mary Streit	1
	Jim Gondringer	1
	Gary Laing	1
	Rock Achman	1
	Cliff Borgerding	1
	Stanley Streit	1
	Total	65
Clerk: 2-year term	Kelly Martini	45
(2022 – 2024)	Stephen Saupe	53
	Total	98

4. Election Results:

- a. Supervisor (three-year term: 2022 -2025): LeRoy Gondringer
- b. Supervisor (*one-year term: 2022 2023*): LeRoy Gondringer
- c. Clerk (two-year term: 2022 2024): Stephen Saupe
- **5. Certification:** Gondringer moved to accept and certify the election process and results of the 2022 Avon Township Election declaring LeRoy Gondringer the winner of the race for Supervisor for a three-year term, LeRoy Gondringer the winner of the race for Supervisor for a one-year term, and Stephen Saupe the winner of the race for Clerk for a two-year term. Sanoski second. All in favor. Motion carried.

Since Mr. Gondringer won both Supervisor positions, he can choose which, if either position, he will accept, and the Supervisors then appoint someone to fill-in the remaining position(s) until the next election according to the rules in Minnesota Statute 367.03.

6. Adjournment: Motion to adjourn the meeting by Gondringer. Second by Sanoski. All in favor. Motion carried. The meeting adjourned at approximately 10 P.M.

Respectfully Submitted, Stephen G. Saupe, Clerk			
Stephen G. Saupe		date:	
Supervisor Approval:		date:	
LeRoy Gondringer	Rich Sanoski		